Transfer your Lotus Notes 6.5.4 workspace across another computer

One of my customer had a very hard time remapping all of his databases on his new workstation – manually by right clicking on an empty workspace, click open database, browse, click on db, and click open. Now that doesn’t seem hard but doing that on 50 different databases is just madness.

Lotus Notes 65
Well, you can do it faster just by just copying a file across. This works for Roaming Notes too. Here’s how…

Go to your old workstation / PC / laptop and browse to your Lotus Notes program directory up to it’s Data folder.

Usually it will be stored here  C:\Program Files\Lotus\Notes\Data

Find desktop6.ndk and copy it over to the target workstation / PC on the same directory. This file contains your workspace layout. It is best to backup your existing desktop6.ndk file rather than replacing (just rename the existing desktop6.ndk file on your new workstation to something like desktop6_backup.ndk before copying)

And that’s it. You will have the same exact workspace as your old workstation 🙂 For Roaming users, your Data folder may be stored on your network drive, so you will need to place it there rather on the local C:

All the best!

Tags:

11 Responses to “Transfer your Lotus Notes 6.5.4 workspace across another computer”

  1. Anton Rasanayagam Says:

    Acually I have to migrate from Lotus notes 7 to Lotus notes 8.5. Initially I copy the desktop6.ndk to the c:\documents and setting\myuserid\application data\Lotus\notes\data
    but it didn’t work. but I see desktop8.ndk in the new folder. I just back it up and rename the desktop6.ndk to desktop8.ndk, it worked to me. I am not sure if this is correct method. but it worked to me.

    Thanks so much for saving my time.

    regards

    Anton

  2. neato4u Says:

    Hi Anton, great to know that this article had saved your time. And well I guess for LN 8.5 it carries the same function however under a different filename (desktop8.ndk). I guess your post will surely help the others out there on their migration to 8.5 🙂 thanks!

  3. sri Says:

    Hi, It worked like champ,
    thanks great help saved lot of time

    Thanks a million……………

  4. Desktop Support Says:

    Thanks Much Appreciated.
    It worked for me as well.
    I reimaged a PC and luckily I backed up their data folder.
    I chose to rename the desktop6 file rather than overwrite to avoid any funny business. and BOOM! workspace icons came back.

  5. Anonymous Says:

    Awesome….You have saved me SOOO much time on migration issues…Thank you!!!

  6. Anonymous Says:

    Thank you. It saved me a lot of time too.

  7. hausfay.com Says:

    Hey there I am so happy I found your weblog, I really found you by
    accident, while I was browsing on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I
    am here now and would just like to say thanks for a marvelous post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to browse it all at the moment but I have saved it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb work.

  8. dailyutahchronicle.com Says:

    My spouse and I absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be just what I’m looking for.
    Do you offer guest writers to write content in your case?
    I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on some of the subjects you write with regards to here. Again, awesome site!

  9. ScanMan Says:

    Thank’s also from me! I’ve managed to migrate a lot of users from Notes 6.5 to 7 with just copying data folder to new version, but always the main problem was migration of desktop icons.

  10. kokoy Says:

    Hi, I am migrating from Lotus Notes 8 to Lotus Notes 8.5.3. I am also having difficulty when it comes to workspaces. As I checked the Notes’ data folder (newly transferred files), I found out that there were two ndk file which are desktop6 and desktop8. Is it normal for these files to exist in one data file or not?

    Thank you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

