TyphooN CyanogenMod 7 Nightly v3.5.4

At time of writing, a newer version (3.5.5) is out, as this is a nightly version. What is a ‘nightly’ version you may ask? Is it dark.. and only works in the night? LOL.. actually the term represents a non official built, let’s say it’s still being worked on and there may be bugs and glitches where a newer version will be released soon. So yes, there may be improvement over the 3.5.4 version which I am trying right now, but for the review, I need to begin somewhere right?

So this week thanks goes to : tyween
ROM URL : http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=933951
If you wish to donate to this developer, you can do so via paypal.

This ROM runs on Gingerbread 2.3.5. My eye almost pops out as I’ve previously used HyperDroid-CM7-v2.1.0 which have it’s dpi tweaked (so everything seems smaller). Getting back to standard dpi just makes everything seems so big and huge.

So will this ROM be with me for another 5 days? I already had some problems with it earlier.. so let’s have a look shall we?

I had issues to flash this ROM during my first attempt. I realized that I have used the wrong Recovery size which got me stuck for 30+ minutes on the white Android logo. So make sure you flash the correct recovery which is 150MB to make this work.

First Boot clocked in 2 minutes and 30 seconds (longest boot time compared to all ROMs tested so far > check The ROMS spec). Normal boot time after that is 1 minute which is.. quite a wait as well.

This ROM runs on Android 2.3.5. So far everything works. Wifi, Bluetooth, vibration, haptic feedbacks, even FM Radio works. I did had some freeze and force close when using the Camcorder…

It turned out that it was my fault. As I’ve been changing ROMs, my DCIM folder (it was the thumbnail folder inside actually), that messed things up. Renaming “DCIM” to “-DCIM” (or something else) and power down resolved the issue.

Camera tweaks and functionality are excellent. You have auto focus (touch – autofocus – shoot), touch to focus, a wide range of ISO settings, wide mode (limited to 4mpx), and a whole lot of other settings which is available at your disposal.

Camcorder works OK. Saves files as MP4 format, lags are present in recordings, but works better in brighter conditions.

The latest Market loads great (comes preinstalled) and downloads are without any hiccups.

Keyboard and haptic feedback works fine so far. Thank god there are no ‘arrow keys’! I just hate em and they are such a nuisance. I can’t type if the arrow keys exists on the screen. With gingerbread having excellent ‘selective text’ and ‘copy paste’ feature, I hope I won’t see them around again.

Notification pane are Gingerbread usual, with toggle connectivity icons available on top (wifi, bluetooth, gps, and volume). Transparency is missing so you can’t see what’s behind, which is a bit disappointing.

Surprisingly this ROM comes with it’s own screenshot application. At any time, just long press your power button, tap the screenshot menu from the list. Within a few seconds it will auto capture a snapshot of your screen. Snapshots are saved in sdcard/DCIM/Screenshots as .png files.

Craving for more reviews? More coming up soon. In the meantime, check out The ROMS specs page for current and past ROM reviews.

Tags:

2 Responses to “TyphooN CyanogenMod 7 Nightly v3.5.4”

  1. Ismail Badli Says:

    Thanks for the nice writeup on the latest cm7 build rom. Heard that this rom is quite picky in installing apps….some of them wont load.

    Still sticking to my miui for the time being.

  2. Venode Says:

    I’ve tried this rom before, just one advice. stay away!

Leave a Reply

