Cheap Quadcopter FPV setup

I’ve sold off my DJI F450 quadcopter along with the Naza Flight Controller (FC). Reason being is that I need to use some money for my family and I am also ‘done’ with the expensive Naza and am ready to try other good and cheap FC’s available out there.

So while waiting for my next FPV journey, I have listed down some things (it’s for myself really, but hey – sharing is caring right!) for a cheap set of quadcopter, FPV ready!

PART 1 – The Quadcopter
$177.16

  • Hobbyking KK2.0 Multi-rotor LCD Flight Control Board    $29.99
  • Hobby King Quadcopter Power Distribution Board   $3.99
  • 2213N 800Kv Brushless Motor x 4   $37.36
  • Hobbyking SS Series 18-20A ESC (card programmable) x 4      $31.20
  • Slow Fly Electric Prop 1045R SF RH Rotation (4 pc)       $3.07
  • Slow Fly Electric Prop 1045SF (4 pc)                             $3.07
  • Famous-M550FPV Fiberglass Version Quad Multicopter Frame Aircraft    $68.48

Most of the stuffs are from Hobbyking except for the frame which is from goodluckbuy.

Image

PART 2 – The serious FPV stuffs
$409.93

  • FatShark 5.8Ghz Telemetry System (Incl. Tx/Rx)   $299.99
  • ImmersionRC 5.8Ghz Audio/Video Transmitter – FatShark compatible (600mw)    $69.99
  • 5.8GHz Circular Polarized spiroNet Antenna  $39.95

Image

I have decided to keep my Horyzon HD for the time being. And short term plan is to mount it to my flying wing for some aerial video via LOS flight. So you guys who wants to start out from scratch need to get yourself a camera as well. If I were to buy one, I would choose the “FatShark Pan/Tilt CAM system, pre-assembled for $49.20″ sold at Hobbyking for an easy compatible system. However, if you have no need for the pan and tilt, just get any good cam but try and pair it with a 2.8mm lens so you get a wide angle view. This is important for piloting multicopter (in my personal opinion). Anything larger in mm will work but with reduced vision of course.

If you plan to get a video recording device, i would personally get myself a GoPro and will definitely get one for my next quad.

There is also a varieties of ‘flight controller’ boards available. I just put the KK2 there for my own estimated reference (I don’t mind getting one as well, it’s pretty good). A friend of mine recommended Naze32 from abusemark.com with a pricetag starting from $74.06. I’ve saw it fly with my own eyes and it was really annoying to see a cheap FC flown so much stable and BETTER than the expensive crap Naza.. It’s definitely on my list, but what I really wanted to try and test right now is the Free Flight FC, full time auto level – which is pretty much what I would use most of the time anyway. I can’t see much places that sells these.. but of course, I’m in no rush as of yet 🙂

I know I’ve been blogging about RC quite a lot these days, maybe I’ll get my mind and hands on something else and let you know about it on my future posts. Too much talking about the same thing can get pretty boring!

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Cheap Quadcopter FPV setup”

  1. Get rid of your voicemail if you don’t use it! « Neato4u's Blog Says:

    […] Neato4u's Blog The best is to share, not to keep! « Cheap Quadcopter FPV setup […]

  2. getstuffcheap Says:

    How much does a conventional hobbyking sold out in the market? Got any ideas? Cool blog!

    • neato4u Says:

      These are parts listed under Hobbyking.. with an exemption of the quad frame by goodluckbuy. If you are enquiring about hobbyking quad frame (kit), have a look under hobbyking multirotors section.

  3. riki Says:

    Salam Tuan,

    This setup still valid tuan? newbie interested in a new hobby here =)

Leave a Reply

