My Yahoo account has been hacked!

It is one of my old secondary account, which I use to register myself in forums and such. So I do get a higher number of spam emails on it. The password was a full numerical characters. But seeing that I rarely use the account, I though the password was strong enough and my email wasn’t so popular for hacker attacks.

And that’s where I was wrong. Recently I received an email – from my secondary account. With suspicious link. I quickly logged back into my old account (password still works!) and immediately checked sent items. Nothing new.

I went over to inbox and there I saw thousands of MAILER-DAEMON@yahoo.com emails! Someone entered my account to send all these garbage link that may lead to virus or dangerous sites. I went to my account info and checked my Recent login activities.. HA!

One login from Netherlands! I believe they use proxy for this.

So if your account has been compromised, here’s what you should do

  • Login and immediately change your password (I changed mine to an alphanumeric type, this should be okay. If you want a more secure, add some symbols as well)
  • Go to your Yahoo! Account Information and view your recent sign in activity to confirm
  • You may also create a Yahoo sign in seal (like those used in internet banking) to double your account security

Should you loss access to your account if someone has changed your password, consult the Yahoo! Password Helper and select My account has been compromised.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

